Green With Envy

15 Feb

This is just one of those recipes that’s been in the back of my mind for a very long time now. I’ve always liked white chocolate macadamia nut cookies, but the macadamia nuts can sometimes overpower the cookies, so when I saw this twist I couldn’t believe I had never thought of it! Replace the macadamia nuts with pistachios! I love pistachios, I mean they are seriously addictive. Or, as Abby from NCIS put it: “Oxycontin is twice as addictive as heroin. It’s more addictive than pistachios. (Gibbs and McGee stare at her) Well, have you ever eaten just one pistachio?” That sums it up pretty nicely!

Sweet and salty is just a perfect combination. French fries and chocolate shakes anyone? 🙂

I started off with a big bag of organic pistachios which I had the pleasure of cracking one by one. Why does it seem like all these recipes harm me in some way?

After I cracked open a bunch of them, I chopped them up relatively finely.

Such a pretty colour! Once that was done, I began making the dough starting with the butter and sugar. I changed the amounts to 1/4 cup of dark muscovado, 1/4 cup regular white sugar, and 1/2 cup of brown sugar. (if your cabinets lack dark muscovado, just replace it with a 1/4 cup brown).

keep mixing and scraping the sides until it’s nice and combined.

Then, add in the milk, eggs and vanilla taking care not to skimp on the vanilla!

Once thoroughly mixed, combine the flour, baking soda, baking flour, salt, and rolled oats. Just so you know, you barely notice the oats. These are NOT oatmeal cookies!

Add in slowly and in batches, scraping down the sides before each addition.

Then, fold in the white chocolate chips and chopped pistachios. Next time I might add in a small handful of toffee bits, as I think they’d taste divine.

Then use a cookie scoop or spoon to fill up a baking sheet. I’d roll them into balls first and flatten them into disks to help them spread more evenly because mine got a little crisp at the edges. Before you put them in the oven, put a few extra pistachio pieces on top for decoration.

Half way through the cooking time, turn the tray around to ensure even cooking.

When they are all cooled, bring them to people you care about or people who you want to like you. I even got two people to try them that had never had pistachios before, so I feel like they have mystical powers. 🙂

I had a bunch of pistachios leftover so I ended up using them on top of a spinach salad the next day after school. Yum!

Here’s the recipe: http://honestfare.com/pistachio-white-chocolate-chip-cookies/

Leave a Reply

