This aint no Pop-Tart pt. 2 (the filling)

6 Mar

I hate pie. There, I said it. Americans seem to love pie, which means I’m surrounded by pumpkin pie, pecan pie (a.k.a. pe-KAWN pie), cherry pie, apple pie, blueberry pie, banana cream pie and millions of other pies year-round. The only pie I’ll go near is lemon meringue and perhaps a high-quality chocolate cream pie. But that’s it.  I feel like I can’t live in America saying I hate apple pie though, so in order to prevent people from picketing around my house I’ll tell you that while I’ll never eat apple pie, I’ll gladly eat an apple tart. Okay, so it isn’t very American, it’s French. Oh well, it’s pastry and apples, that’s enough of a similarity for me! Maybe I should just get to the recipe…

Start with 2-3 Granny Smith Apples. I used 3 and still have a bowl of apple slices in my fridge…

Peel the skin off the apples making sure to only do one at a time to prevent them from browning too fast. You then need to use an apple corer to remove the seed in a nice, clean manner. Too bad I don’t have one. I used a paring knife to make 6 incisions around the core (making a hexagon) making sure the blade went all the way in. I then flipped over the apple and did the same on the other side to be safe. Then, push the core from one side…

until it’s completely out!

I then cut this in half so that I had two half-moons. I then laid one half moon flat on the cutting board with the core running perpendicular to me. I cut off a chunk of the right side and the left side so that all my slices would be the same size. Put the leftover apple to one side and any slices that come out too thin, too thick, of break in half. This will me used later. I also used a fresh lemon to squeeze lemon juice over the cut apples and slices to prevent browning.

You want the slices to be as thin as you can get them. You won’t be cooking them beforehand, so you’ll want them to be thin enough to get soft in the oven. 

Take an oven-proof bowl and dump in the apple chunks and reject slices with 1 Tablespoon of butter, a spoonful of sugar, and a dash of cinnamon if you would like.

You’ll then bake these in the oven until browned, about 10-15 minutes. Then, you’ll mash them up with a fork until there’s only small-medium chunks left.

Spread this on the bottom of your tart crust.

Then comes the fun part: arranging the apple slices! Starting on the outside, layer the apples in rings until the whole thing is covered.

Then, sprinkle on a spoonful of sugar, and brush on some melted butter. Start the design again to create a second layer.

Then, sprinkle with a couple more spoonfuls of sugar and a little more butter to help the apples caramelize without them burning. I also made sure to butter the edge of the pastry to prevent burning. Place this in the 400 degree oven for about 30-40 minutes or until the apples are browned. You’ll want to make sure to check on it otherwise your hard work will be all for nothing! 😦

Yeah, no big deal…

You need to let it cool for 15-20 minutes before cutting a slice. I think I lasted 10. Then a piece magically disappeared from the tart…

I topped my still-warm piece with a scoop of vanilla ice cream and a drizzle of caramel sauce. It was divine!
After my dessert I went off for dinner with friends and then we went to go see Hairspray which was amazing. When I came home there was only half of the tart left. hmmmmm….

Leave a Reply

