Craving Chipotle…

15 Mar

A few weekends ago I spent most of the day downtown with one of my best friends which was really fun. We ended up going through vintage stores, a store selling tools to make beautiful terrariums, and stopped for lunch at The Grilled Cheese Grill’s new location. I had been dying to go to it ever since I had found out that instead of a school bus, they had converted a double-decker bus into seating. Ever since I first went there I have been craving their amazing tomato soup. I don’t know how to describe it, but I’m dying for the recipe. I had a regular “Kindergartener” (cheddar on white bread) with a cup of soup.

Camille had a vegan “Liam” ( marinated tofu, vegan cheese, artichoke hearts, and red onion on Sourdough).

Next time I go I really want to try one of their sweet grilled cheeses like “the Jennie Lou” (bacon and havarti on grilled maple bread). Anyone want to go on a grilled cheese date? 🙂

The tables are decorated with people’s’ school photos. This was one of my favourites! 🙂

We ended up passing The Waffle Window which I had always wanted to try, so I took the opportunity to indulge my sweet tooth by having a giant Belgian waffle topped with fresh bananas, hot fudge, nutella, and whipped cream. Needless to say I was on a sugar high afterwards!

It was divine. In fact, I tried to recreate it with Eggo waffles the next day but It wasn’t the same. I did however make a batch of Belgian waffles and made them into sandwiches with whipped cream, Nutella, and fresh strawberries this past Sunday. They were great, but definitely not as perfect as The Waffle Window’s!

Other than grilled cheese, tomato soup, and crazy waffles I tend to go through cravings. The one thing that I crave whenever somebody mentions it though, is Chipotle. It seems like I can’t go through a day without someone mentioning it at school which is extremely annoying especially when all you have for lunch is a brown bagged lunch. So, yesterday I decided that I wasn’t going to get the real thing any time soon so I decided to recreate it myself.

I bought groceries on Sunday and all I needed was some cilantro, tortilla chips, black beans, and fresh chicken breast. All the ingredients I already had in my pantry and fridge. Now, I’m not a big fan of condiments so I never get guacamole, salsa, or sour cream. This may be why it was so simple for me to put my usual order together.

I had pieces of chicken in the fridge leftover from my homemade chicken noodle soup on Saturday. I wrapped my portion in a piece of foil and chucked it in the oven. Next I got the Cilantro ready.

I love cilantro especially in rice and as a topping on barbecue chicken pizza. Delish! I also chopped up some lettuce and got out a handful of grated mozzarella ready to add to the meal.

I cooked some rice and added in the cilantro just before I was ready to put it in my bowl.

To top it off I added black beans that I reheated on the stove top, lettuce, my hot chicken, and mozzarella.

I even had it with tortilla chips that had specks of lime on them. See? They were nothing compared to homemade, but I wasn’t about to make my own! Overall it was a delicious meal and a great substitute for Chipotle, but it will never compare to the real thing.

In the next few days I’ll do a post about a couple of cooking disasters I’ve produced over the past few days. Hopefully I can get out of my rut, and back to some delicious creations again! 🙂

Leave a Reply

