Spring Break

26 Mar

It’s been 10 days since I last posted which is really inexcusable sine I’ve been on spring break with nothing to do for the past week. I’ve been stuck at home for the whole week with all my friends in places like Hawaii and California, and a couple of roadtrips. Basically I was feeling the cabin fever. Luckily I ended up making a bunch of different goodies to share with you all. 🙂

So I started off the week making this recipe for a basic cookie dough. It’s really versatile and can be used for tart dough in addition to cookies. I got the recipe out of my handy-dandy Williams and Sonoma Weeknight Cook book. We have at least a dozen Williams and Sonoma recipe books because they are so reliably good! 🙂

Here’s a picture of the recipe (click on it to open a larger version in a new window):

It was actually really easy to put together. You start by sifting the fours and salt together in a bowl.

In my awesome KitchenAid mixer I combined the butter, sugar, and vanilla until creamy.

Then I just mixed in the dry ingredients until it the dough had come together.

Turn this out onto a piece of plastic wrap, mush it together with your hands to form a disk and store it in the fridge. I only made half the recipe so I made 1 disk instead of 3.

I ended up using this as a base for homemade samoas and some miniature tarts. My mum used them to make Bakewell tarts. A Bakewell tart is  a shortbread crust filled with a layer of jam and a frangipane which is an almond sponge. This is then baked, cooled, and covered with icing and half a cherry for a garnish. They are very cute!

I ended up having a craving for lemon meringue pie and I found a jar of lemon curd from England in our fridge. This craving ended up making me bake a full-sized, completely from scratch version yesterday. It was delicious, but the simplicity of using jarred curd and the individual portion was great.

I buttered the tin and layered in the pastry. I then spooned in the lemon curd, right into the uncooked pastry dough. I baked this in the oven until the pastry was light brown.

I then whipped up 2 egg whites with some white sugar until stiff peaks formed.

I then spooned this into a piping bag fitted with a star tip. I piped little dollops of meringue on top of the tart.

I then put this in the oven until the top was brown and slightly crispy to the touch.

I then stuck the completed tart into the fridge for a few hours to get cold. When it was ready I cut it in half so you can see the layers.

It was definitely delicious, and had me craving the real thing. But that’s another story for another blog post. 🙂

Leave a Reply

