I’m Still Alive…Barely

25 May

Since I last blogged, I’ve accumulated hundreds of food pictures in my camera of everyting from caramel-filled brownies to alien sugar cookies, birthday mocktails to hot cross buns, tesselation cookies to a fractal cake. Why, you might ask, have I been AWOL for the past few weeks? The long and short of it is that I am going insane with the stress of final projects, graduation and trying to find a job. Have no fear, once I graduate I shall be back in that kitchen as often as I like, not a care in the world for a few months at least. I already have plans to visit the farmer’s market for fresh produce and to go berry picking for some desserts I am dying to make so I can’t wait to get to it.

Another big project I have in mind is to enter the Threadcakes contest for my second time. Threadcakes is a contest put on by the t-shirt company Threadless. All cakes must be based on a Threadless shirt design which is great because there are thousands of wacky designs to choose from! So last summer I entered my interpretation of a shirt design called “A Vehicle Built For Dreams”. I chose it not only because it was beautiful, but because I really wanted a pair of TOMS shoes. (This was before everyone started wearing them…)

While I did not win, I was mentioned in one of my favourite blogs “Cake Wrecks” in a “Sunday Sweets” post about really amazing cakes (since all other cake wreck posts are about cake wrecks) which was enough to make me feel like a winner. πŸ™‚

This year we can start submitting cakes June 13th, so I’m frantically trying o pick a design. I might even end up doing a couple instead of just one since I’m having trouble picking. Another thing I decided was to ask all of you to vote, and I will use the results to help my decision on what to make. I have a few that I really like that I’ll post below, but feel free to go here and look for something else. Keep in mind I’ll be doing a 2D design and I specialize in handpainting. πŸ˜‰

“Storytellers” Because I’m a book geek, because I love the fact that there’s a sparkly Edward book, comatose Sleeping Beauty and a Little Mermaid book, because I am a sucker for adorableness…I love this! πŸ™‚

“Peacock at Night” I’m thinking of doing this on white fondant and making the feathers colourful.

“It’s So Simple” If you look carefully, those are all letters. See it? Mind Blown? Now imagine this on 12 mini cakes.

“Captain Obvious” I love this because it’s colourfull, satirical and I think it’d be a great challenge. πŸ™‚

If you want to see a bigger, better quality photo to better judge which you want to see in cake form, search the titles on the Threadless website.Β 

Happy Voting! πŸ™‚

One Response to “I’m Still Alive…Barely”

  1. Marisa May 25, 2011 at 8:24 pm #

    Out of all the treats mentioned above the alien cookies were the best πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

